Nomination period closes for New West election

The BC-wide deadline to file paperwork for the municipal vote was 4pm on Sept. 9

New Westminster City Hall

And then there were three.

With the nomination deadline coming and going at 4pm on Friday, Sept. 9, New West residents will choose a new mayor from three candidates: Ken Armstrong, Patrick Johnstone, and Chuck Puchmayr.

In January, Jonathan Cote confirmed he would not be running again for mayor.

While no new names were added to the list since this previous Anchor piece, one eagle-eyed reader noted a gaffe on CivicInfo BC.

After New West Anchor tweeted the list of mayoral, council, and school trustee candidates, Brad Cavanagh shared a screenshot of the CivicInfo BC website, which showed council candidate Daniel Fontaine as running under the Community First New West (CFNW) banner.

Fontaine, who ran in the previous election, has been campaigning with the New Westminster Progressives (NWP).

The CivicInfo website showed Daniel Fontaine was running with Community First New West. Fontaine's actual party, the New Westminster Progressives, confirmed that was an error and that he is still running with them.

The NWP has since confirmed this was an error, and that Fontaine is still running with the Progressives.

While most council hopefuls are running or seeking re-election with a slate, Daniel Ampong, a local business owner, is the only one running independently. The remainder are running with CFNW or the NWP, with Jaimie McEvoy, Nadine Nakagawa, and Chinu Das looking to keep their seats. All three are running with CFNW.

All school trustee candidates are running with CFNW or the NWP.

You can also take a look at the dates for upcoming debates.